skip navigation

WVCA Releases Fall 2020 All-State Teams

By WVCA, 11/13/20, 6:30PM CST


150 Student-Athletes from 77 schools receive honors

MILWAUKEE - The Wisconsin Volleyball Coaches Association released its Fall 2020 All-State Teams Friday evening. Due to COVID concerns, this year's vote was done virtually the week following the State Tournament.

For the third straight season, the WVCA has divided its All-State honors into four separate divisions, following the WIAA divisional placement. This year's vote allowed for a total of 150 student-athletes to earn statewide recognition, representing 77 different schools.

The Division 1 field is arguably the most balanced among the four All-State teams, in that nine different schools make up its First Team placements. State Champion Hamilton was the only team dually represented by Lakyn Graves and Janelle Stuempfig, and earned four All-State honors in total. Runner-up Burlington added five total All-State players to its ledger, headlined by First Teamer Samantha Naber.

With a high percentage of Division 1 teams opting for Fall 2020 season coming in southeastern Wisconsin, the rest of the First Team features some perennial Milwaukee-area programs. Greater Metro Conference foes Tatum Catalano of Germantown and Mckenna Wucherer from Brookfield Central join Waukesha West’s Anna Holland and Oconomowoc’s Maleah Howe in the longstanding GMC-C8C rivalry. Pewaukee’s Jordan Berglin, Sauk Prairie’s Adia Shadewald, and River Falls’ Anna Wolf fill in the rest of the First Team Division 1 squad.

The Division 2 field was ripe with twists and turns all season, arguably the division most affected by COVID across the state. When the smoke cleared, Luxemburg-Casco successfully defended its D2 Championship and earned four All-State honors, including the pair of First Team awardees Hannah Derenne and Emma Johnson. Edgewood, who was forced to withdraw from the State Tournament, also received four All-State nominees with Ella Foti and Natalie Ring earning First Team. Lakeside Lutheran finished runner-up to L-C and earned three All-State honors led by First Teamer Payton Kuepers, while Kaitlyn Riley headlined a trio of All-State honorees from Catholic Memorial.

Cora Behnke of Oconto, Hattie Bray of Wautoma, Evvie Kaczkowski of Lake Country Lutheran, and Katie Winkler of East Troy rounded out the Division 2 First Team.

Howards Grove and Waterloo have essentially dominated the Division 3 landscape for the past two seasons, and both were rewarded by receiving seven of the 10 WVCA Division 3 First Team honors. The back-to-back State Champion Tigers earned five of those seven, including Saige Damrow, Josie Halbleib, Mack Holzwart, Karissa Kaminski, and Maddy Near. State runner-up Waterloo earned four All-State nods overall, led by First Team honorees Brooke Mosher and Joslyn Wolff.

A trio of juniors rounded out the Division 3 First Team—Hanne Johnson from Grantsburg, Kylie Struble from Pacelli, and Gianna Vollrath from Fall Creek.

Undefeated Division 4 State Champion Catholic Central boasts four All-State honorees total and three on the First Team in Grace Antlfinger, Lainey Dirksmeyer, and Sammie Seib. State Runner-up McDonell also received four All-State awards as a team, highlighted by First Team recipient Maggie Craker.

Six other schools were represented by this year’s First Team honorees, including State semifinalist Olivia Burcaw from Prentice and Sectional finalists Mollee Gruszynski from Three Lakes, Anika Torgerson of Turtle Lake, and Jaclyn Wise from Green Bay NEW Lutheran. Rachel Miller of Highland and Dorci Walker from Columbus Catholic round out the Division 4 First Team.


Sectional Representatives making up the Fall 2020 voting committee were:

Division 1 - Sara Kealy, River Falls; Cathy Newton, Wausau West; Colleen Hasse, Slinger; Amy Schlimgen, Sauk Prairie; Teri Little, Burlington; Dave Baacke, Wisconsin Lutheran; Scott Spiess (Chair), Brookfield Central; Shane Peterson, Kettle Moraine.

Division 2 - Elizabeth Bohl, Bloomer; Justin Jacobs (Chair), Mosinee; Jeff Frey, Luxemburg-Casco; Luke Herriges, Xavier; Nellie George, Aquinas; Tami Janke, Wisconsin Dells; Stephanie Prochnow, Kettle Moraine Lutheran; Jenny Krauklis, Lakeside Lutheran.

Division 3 - Deb Allaman-Johnson, Grantsburg; Matt Prissel, Fall Creek; Marla Simon, Iowa-Grant; Jackie Struble, Pacelli; Molly Meyers, Crivitz; Kristen Remington (Chair), Hilbert; Jeff Kohlbeck, Randolph; Christy Mosher, Waterloo.

Division 4 - Robyn Schoeneman, Mercer; Jackie Torgerson, Turtle Lake; Jayme Wyss, Three Lakes; Mike Murphy, Prentice; Mark Sullivan, Hillsboro; Maria Wineski, Highland; Wayne Schultz, Catholic Central; Laura Trautmann, Fall River.