skip navigation

WVCA Announces Hall of Fame Class of 2021

By WVCA, 05/17/21, 2:45PM CDT


Twelve coaches, players, and officials to be inducted into WVCA Hall of Fame

MILWAUKEE - The Wisconsin Volleyball Coaches Association announced its Hall of Fame Class of 2021 this May. A record class of 12 inductees will feature nine coaches, two former high school and collegiate student-athletes, and one official for the WVCA Hall of Fame.

Entering as Coaches are Charlie Berg, Jon Ellmann, Betty Lange, Mike & Wendy Meierotto, Bruce Moriarty, Lisa Roelke, Dave Scher, Ted Schulte, and Carol St. Arnauld. Inducted as the first two players are Simone Lee and Aubrey Meierotto, and the first-ever official entering the WVCA Hall of Fame is Harry Babcock.

“I am truly amazed at the work our Hall of Fame Class of 2021 has done, and continues to do,” WVCA Executive Director Jay Messar said. “The nine coaches on this list are longtime advocates for our sport, and are directly responsible for the continued success of volleyball across our statewide landscape. The two players on this list are a pair of the most prolific student-athletes to ever come out of the Badger State. Additionally, our sport couldn’t exist without officials and it is very special to honor one of the state’s best with this inaugural recognition of well-deserved referees.”

This year marks 10 years since the inaugural WVCA Hall of Fame class was named, with 12 coaches also receiving honors back in 2012. To celebrate the WVCA Hall of Fame’s 10th Anniversary, the Association’s Hall of Fame committee found it important for the first time to open considerations to current and active coaches, and those who contribute to the game in however means they can. This shift can include former players, current and former officials, friends of the game, or otherwise.

Celebration of this dynamic and prolific group of Hall of Fame honorees will take place on Saturday, August 7, 2021 at the Holiday Inn in Appleton, Wis. (1565 N Casaloma Drive, Appleton, WI 54913). More details about the event, including registration and programming, can be found on our website,, upon availability.

This year’s Hall of Fame banquet will be flanked by the annual WVCA Coaches Clinic, which will return in-person this August and hosted nearby at the Community First Champions Center Saturday and Sunday.

Congratulations to all our inductees!

WVCA Class of 2021


Charlie Berg - Westosha Central High School, Kenosha Christian Life School
Jon Ellmann - Gibraltar High School, Lourdes Academy, University of Wisconsin-Oshkosh
Betty Lange - Newman Catholic High School
Mike & Wendy Meierotto - Washburn High School
Bruce Moriarty - Neenah High School
Lisa Roelke - River Valley High School
Dave Scher - Pius XI High School
Ted Schulte - Catholic Memorial High School
Carol St. Arnauld - Niagara High School


Simone Lee - Menomonee Falls High School, Penn State University
Aubrey Meierotto - Washburn High School, University of Wisconsin


Harry Babcock - Wisconsin Rapids