skip navigation
Endreas, Hanson, Hext, Roesler

WVCA Inducts Four into Hall of Fame

By WVCA, 05/05/18, 5:30PM CDT


Endreas, Hanson, Hext, Roesler inducted as Class of 2017

WISCONSIN DELLS, Wis. – The Wisconsin Volleyball Coaches Association inducted a quartet of coaches into the WVCA Hall of Fame on Friday, May 4, 2018 at the picturesque Wild Rock Golf Club on the grounds of The Wilderness Resort in Wisconsin Dells. Bev Endreas of Abbotsford, Carol Hanson of West Salem, Doug Hext of Kettle Moraine Lutheran, and Deb Roesler of McDonell Central Catholic comprised this year’s Class of 2017.

Endreas’ short tenure at Abbotsford was marked with incredible success, leading the Falcons to six state tournament berths and four Division 4 state championships. She accrued almost 300 victories at a win percentage well over .865 overall. She amassed an astounding 40-3 record in postseason play alone, including an 8-2 mark in state tournament matches.

Hanson built a perennial Coulee Conference powerhouse while at West Salem, claiming 16 league laurels in her 25-year span at the helm. Her Panther squads won 13 regional titles and in 2006, finally broke through with the team’s only state tournament berth. While also holding brief coaching stints at Cassville and Whitehall, she remains dedicated to the sport and its growth at the youth levels to this day.

Hext put the Kettle Moraine Lutheran volleyball program on the proverbial map around the turn of the century, accruing a career record of 456-153-13 at the Jackson-based school. His Chargers won seven consecutive Parkland Conference titles from 1999 to 2005, as well as six regional, five sectional, and three consecutive Division 3 state championships.

Roesler truly developed the McDonell Central Catholic volleyball program from scratch in 1976, and 27 years later, she had accumulated 1,483 wins and posted just five losing seasons over that span. The Macks won 14 Central Wisconsin Catholic Conference championships, seven regional titles, seven sectional titles, and the last-ever WISAA Division 2 State Championship in 1999.

Endreas, Hanson, Hext, and Roesler join 39 others as Hall of Fame inductees. The first Hall of Fame class was awarded back in 2012, marking this year’s Class of 2017 as the sixth group to be inducted.