skip navigation
Cap and Scroll

2017-18 All-Academic Teams Announced

By WVCA, 06/25/18, 7:30PM CDT


719 Individuals and 19 Schools earn annual honors

MILWAUKEE – The Wisconsin Volleyball Coaches Association recognized an impressive 719 individuals and 19 schools Monday, announcing its All-Academic Individual and Team Awards for the 2017-18 school year.

The Wisconsin Volleyball Coaches Association Team Academic Award is designed to honor high school varsity volleyball student-athletes and teams that have proven excellence in the classroom. Only WVCA member-coaches may nominate for either All-Academic Award.

To be eligible to receive the Individual All-Academic Award, student-athletes must have a minimum cumulative grade point average (GPA) of 3.5 on a 4.0 scale, or the equivalent on another scale, during the first semester of the school year. Only players who have earned a varsity letter during the season according to her school's requirements is eligible for this award.

For the 2017-18 school year, Kewaunee tallied the most individual honorees with 14. Ashwaubenon, Cameron, Monona Grove, and Neenah were right behind the Storm with 13 honorees representing their individual schools.

To be eligible for the All-Academic Team Award, teams must have a minimum cumulative GPA of 3.3 on a 4.0 scale, or the equivalent on another scale, during the entire school year. This will include GPA's from all players who competed at the varsity level.

For the 2017-18 school year, Crivitz led the way as its 11-member varsity squad accrued an astounding cumulative team GPA of 3.815. Madison West was second overall with a team GPA of 3.793, one one-thousandth of a point better than the Random Lake’s 3.792. Reedsburg led all Division 2 nominations with a GPA of 3.723, while Gresham Community posted the highest GPA among Division 4 teams with a 3.678.

Twenty-nine statewide high school girls teams also earned All-Academic Team honors from the American Volleyball Coaches Association.

The Wisconsin schools on that list include: Athens, Berlin, Brookfield Central, Cambria-Friesland, Cameron, Cassville, Colfax, Divine Savior Holy Angels, Greendale, Hartford Union, Hillsboro, Kaukauna, Lakeside Lutheran, Living Word Lutheran, Luxemburg-Casco, Mayville, Middleton, Mosinee, Mukwonago, Neenah, Princeton/Green Lake, Racine Lutheran, Reedsburg, Union Grove, Waterloo, Westfield, Westosha Central, Weyauwega-Fremont, and Wisconsin Lutheran.