skip navigation

WVCA Releases All-State Teams

By WVCA, 11/12/19, 6:15PM CST


183 Recognized in Statewide Honors

ASHWAUBENON, Wis. - All four WIAA State Champions racked up plenty of postseason awards this week as the Wisconsin Volleyball Coaches Association announced its 2019 All-State honors Tuesday.

Newly-crowned Division 1 champion Arrowhead headlined with three All-State players, including First Team honoree Aubrey Hamilton. Runner-up Oconomowoc also had three honorees overall, led by the First Team tandem of Talyer Alden and Caitlin Crawford. Burlington and River Falls led all of Division 1 with four nominees overall. The Demons’ Kaley Blake and Sam Naber, and the Wildcats’ Emily Banitt joined Brianna Cantrell (Appleton North), Milla Malik (Waunakee), KJ McNabb (Sun Prairie), and Mckenna Wucherer (Brokfield Central) in First Team Division 1 honors.

Division 2 showed great parity for most of the regular season, and its postseason honors followed suit. This year’s Division 2 Champion Luxemburg-Casco was led by First Team honoree Bekah Day, while fellow State Tournament participant Wisconsin Lutheran’s Julia Treichel also claimed First Team honors. Lake Country Lutheran led the way with four All-State honorees, led by Rylee Vaughn’s First Team honor. Ella Collins (Lakeside Lutheran), Gianna Feld (Kettle Moraine Lutheran), Ella Foti (Edgewood), Elise Goetzinger (Mount Horeb), Marissa Kleman (La Crosse Logan), Jacqueline Smith (Northland Pines), and Katie Winkler (East Troy) closed out the Division 2 First Team list.

Division 3 was dominated most of the year by the play of Howards Grove, and the Tigers’ dominance at last weekend’s State Tournament translated into four postseason individual honors. Sophomore Karissa Kaminski and freshman Saige Damrow claimed First Team status, and were joined by Courtney Becker and Lexi Donarski from D3 runner-up Aquinas. Cora Behnke (Oconto), Sidney Hoverman (St. Croix Falls), Hanne Johnson (Grantsburg), Brooke Mosher (Waterloo), Gianna Vollrath (Fall Creek), and Skylar White (River Ridge) also claimed D3 First Team honors.

Clear Lake pulled off the first undefeated season in school history, and received an impressive five postseason honors among the Division 4 nominees. Warriors claiming First Team laurels were Julianna Rosen, Maggie Rosen, Rayne Vangsness, and Madison Zimmer. Maggie Craker (McDonell Central), Olivia Liddicoat (Iowa-Grant), Aubrey Schoeneman (Mercer), Sammie Sieb (Catholic Central), Lauren Shields (Newman Catholic), Jaclyn Wise (Green Bay N.E.W. Lutheran) rounded out the 2019 First Team.

For the second straight season, the WVCA organized its All-State teams by division. Eight sectional representatives in each division gathered in Green Bay to analyze, discuss, and organize this year's All-State teams. This year's committee consisted of the following:

Division 1: Megan Awe, Westosha Central; Corey Davis, Menomonie; Taylor Klinzing, Hartford; Stephanie Lamers, Mukwonago; TJ Rantala, Sun Prairie; Steve Scheuerell, Appleton North; Kelly Schmidt, Greendale; Scott Spiess, Brookfield Central.

Division 2: Ben Alexander-Wolf, Notre Dame Academy; Dave Baacke, Wisconsin Lutheran; Elizabeth Bohl, Bloomer; Kathy Bullis, Whitewater; Luke Herriges, Xavier; Justin Jacobs, Mosinee; Kurt Owen, Mount Horeb; Stephanie Prochnow, Kettle Moraine Lutheran.

Division 3: Eric Dean, Algoma; Danielle George, Aquinas; Keri Lawson, Cuba City; Pam Meredith, Colfax; Molly Meyers, Crivitz; Christy Mosher, Waterloo; Matt Prissel, Fall Creek; Dawn Walker, Living Word Lutheran.

Division 4: Craig Baeseman, Royall; Jeff Kohlbeck, Randolph; Betty Lange, Newman Catholic; Kristen Remington, Hilbert; Robyn Schoeneman, Mercer; Alicia Strilzuk, Clear Lake; Maria Wineski, Highland.

See the full 2019 WVCA All-State lists at the link below.